What is Georgia's Super Speeder Law?

Article written December, 2009

 

Beginning January 1, 2010, Georgia's new super speeder law went into effect. This law can mean higher fines or even a suspended driver's license for some individuals convicted of speeding.  Who will be a "super speeder?"  A person is a "super speeder" if he or she is convicted of driving at 75mph or faster on a two-lane road or highway, or if he or she is convicted of driving at 85 mph or faster on any road.

It is easy to find yourself going 85 mph along with the rest of traffic on the interstate where the speed limit is 70 -- but don't do it!

How much are the higher fines?  A person classified as a "super speeder" will face a fine of $200.00 in addition to the fine on their ticket.  This can mean stiff penalties for those driving very fast. Speeding tickets can range up to $500; now with the $200 added on, a "super speeder" might have to pay as much as $700.

How can a "super speeder" lose his or her license?  The Department of Driver Services is supposed to notify a person if they are a "super speeder" and tell that person he or she owes the fine of $200.  If the person does not pay the $200 fee within 90 days of getting that notice, that person's driver's license will be suspended.  When that person applies to get their driver's license back, they will have to pay all the fines plus another $50.

 

After reading all this, I'm sure you can guess what any good lawyer should advise:  Drive safely, and keep it under 75 mph, or be prepared to pay the penalties! 

 

 

For those of you who love legalese, the exact language of the statute is below:

 

 

O.C.G.A. Section 40-6-189.  (Effective January 1, 2010) Classification as super speeder; fees; funding for trauma care system.

 

(a) As used in this Code section, the term "department" means the Department of Driver Services.

(b) In addition to any other fines or penalties imposed by any local jurisdiction or the department, the department shall administer and collect a fee of $200.00 from any driver who is convicted of driving at a speed of 85 miles per hour or more on any road or highway or 75 miles per hour or more on any two-lane road or highway, as defined in Code Section 40-6-187. Such a driver, upon conviction, shall be classified as a "super speeder."

(c) The department shall notify offenders of the imposition of a fee under this Code section within 30 days after receipt of a qualifying ticket and notice of conviction. Failure to pay the fee imposed by this Code section within 90 days after receipt of the notice shall result in the suspension of the driver's license or driving privileges of the offender, and, in addition to the existing fees and penalties, a fee of $50.00 shall be assessed, payable upon the application for reinstatement of the driver's license or driving privileges. Notice shall be provided by the department to the offender by first-class mail to the address shown on the records of the department. Such mailed notice shall be adequate notification of the fee imposed by this Code section and of the offender's ability to avoid a driver's license suspension by paying the fee prior to the effective date of the suspension. No other notice shall be required to make the driver's license suspension effective.

(d) The department shall be authorized to promulgate rules and regulations to implement the provisions of this Code section.

(e) All fees collected under the provisions of this Code section shall be deposited in the general fund of this state with the intent that these moneys be used to fund a trauma care system in Georgia and the direct and indirect costs associated with the administration of this Code section. The Office of Treasury and Fiscal Services shall separately account for all of the moneys received under the provisions of this Code section.